Daily Shipping Deals

BUY 3 OR MORE 3 SHIPS FREE ITEMS AND THEY SHIP FOR FREE Shop Now

FREE SHIPPING ON SELECT ITEMS Shop Now

BUY A RIG* AND YOUR ENTIRE ORDER SHIPS FREE See Details

ORDERS OF $5K SHIP FREE See Details

SAME DAY SHIPPING* Learn More

The Ohio Bar

The Ohio Bar - Black Zinc w/ Bright Zinc
$282.00
Black Zinc w/ Bright Zinc
The Ohio Bar - Black on Black Zinc
$282.00
Black Zinc Shaft and Sleeves.
The Ohio Bar - Black Oxide
$295.00

Black Oxide Shaft and Sleeves

Gear Specs

Brand Rogue Fitness
Bar Type Men's Bars
Bar Use Weightlifting, Olympic Weightlifting, Powerlifting, Multipurpose
Bar Weight 20KG
Diameter 28.5MM
Knurl Multi
Center Knurl No
Knurl Marks Dual
Shaft Coating Varies
Loadable Sleeve Length 16.4"
Sleeve Coating Varies
Bushing/Bearing Bushing
Tensile Strength 190,000 PSI
Guarantee/Warranty Lifetime Warranty*
Made In USA Yes

Gear Specs

Brand Rogue Fitness
Bar Type Men's Bars
Bar Use Weightlifting, Olympic Weightlifting, Powerlifting, Multipurpose
Bar Weight 20KG
Diameter 28.5MM
Knurl Multi
Center Knurl No
Knurl Marks Dual
Shaft Coating Varies
Loadable Sleeve Length 16.4"
Sleeve Coating Varies
Bushing/Bearing Bushing
Tensile Strength 190,000 PSI
Guarantee/Warranty Lifetime Warranty*
Made In USA Yes

How It’s Built

From the 190,000 PSI steel to the distinctive dual knurl marks and four separate coating options, every detail of the Ohio Bar is held to the absolute highest standard—as you can see in the step-by-step process below.

Watch Video

  • 1New 190,000 PSI Steel

    This steel is manufactured in the US and has proven to be one of the best steel variants for a multi-purpose barbell.

    Each barbell shaft is ground and polished prior to machining which allows the bar to have a very smooth finish post any black oxide, zinc or chrome finish.

  • 2Machining

    Every bar shaft is machined in Columbus, Ohio. A great deal of pride is built into each bar as the knurling process is an art. We spent months working on the knurl we believe to be the best for the Ohio Bar.

    To test the knurl it is more a beer tasting process than exact measurement. There is a look and feel that go into testing every bar.

  • 3Fit and Finish

    The Ohio Bar is available with 3 different finishes. Each finish offers a different level of oxidization protection and has a direct effect on the feel of the knurl.

    Black Oxide is a mild oxidization protectant process. This type of steel treatment will still require some maintenance but will give the best knurl feel, more like a naked bar.

    Bright Zinc and Black Zinc is a medium oxidization protectant process. This type of steel treatment requires minimal maintenance and is used on The Rogue and Bella Bars.

  • 4Assembly

    The Ohio Bar is assembled with bronze bushings which act as bearing surfaces between the bar sleeve and bar shaft. This is a very robust way of building a barbell.

    Each bar will come with an Ohio Bar card that has the initials of the Rogue team member that built the bar.

  • 5Performance

    This bar will have normal “whip” during Olympic weightlifting and enough stiffness to hold for heavy powerlifting. The steel in this bar is proven as an excellent choice for weightlifters.

  • 6Fast Rogue Shipping

    Rogue prides itself on fast, professional shipping. If your bar is ordered by 3PM EST Monday-Friday, it will ship same day. Your bar will be packaged safely and ship fast. You can follow the progress of your order using the Rogue Shipping Tracker.

Each Rogue Ohio Bar is machined and assembled in Columbus, Ohio, and includes a lifetime guarantee against bending*.

The bushing sleeves on the Ohio Bar promise a reliable spin, and their snap ring design maintains optimal stability throughout any type of weightlifting regimen-- from basic high school or collegiate strength training programs to intense Crossfit workouts.

Ohio Bar Coating Options You can select one of the following available coatings from the sidebar:

  • Standard Black Oxide Treatment
  • Black Zinc Plating with Bright Zinc Sleeves - Same zinc combination as the Rogue Bar
  • Black Zinc Plating with Black Zinc Sleeves – Murdered out

See Also: The Rogue Barbell Cleaning Kit

Whichever coating you choose, Rogue has provided some helpful tips for long term Bar Care & Maintenance.

*Warranty against bending does not cover any bar which has been damaged due to negligent or faulty use, alteration, maintenance, storage or handling by the user. Negligent or faulty use includes abusive dropping of the bar (i.e., dropping the bar on a box, bench, spotter arms or pins in a power rack, excessive dropping with insufficient or damaged bumpers, or excessive dropping with iron plates, and similar usage). Any specific issues regarding a Rogue product with which a customer is not satisfied will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis. We have found that most problems with bars we replace are related to abusive use rather than manufacturing or materials issues.

The Ohio Bar is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 134.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible bar - pull the trigger and get one I learned early on that I am not a gym person. Over the past couple of years I have built my own. I started with cheap barbells from local sporting good stores and I have literally broken them. Keep in mind, I am 5 foot 6 and weigh 170 pounds - I'm not that big. I've been eyeballing This Bar for a while now and honestly just didn't want to pay that much for a bar. Finally, I pulled the trigger. This Bar is better than any bar I have ever used. The knurling is absolutely spot-on, the bar itself is comfortable in your hands, and you don't feel like you're going to break it or like you're going to have to worry about being easy on the bar while deadlifting or using a heavier weight. If you were in a similar position and have used cheaper bars and aren't sure if you should pay more for a rogue bar, I would say just do it. This is not a purchase I am ever going to regret. I am incredibly pleased with this bar and I'm very happy to say that Rogue has absolute blown my mind with this bar. I don't think I'll be buying any more cheap workout gear - Rogue has just earned my business for life.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bar This is my first bar, and I'm happy to say that is was a wise purchase. Everything about this product says professional. It looks great, feels great, and works beautifully with the Rogue 6-Shooter Urethane Olympic Grip Plates I purchased separately. Not only great performance, but a nice "black ops" aesthetic appeal, to boot. Very cool.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Barbell My first barbell from rogue and i love it. I'm sooo happy..... :D Perfect spin, super knurling, GREAT !!! The support was really helpful ! Thanks :)
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Square deal I've had this bar for about a month so here are my honest thoughts. This is my first barbell purchase and I don't regret it. knurling is a little soft in my opinion for powerlifting purposes and just right for volume work. It's a solid bar for squats dispite no center knurl it stays put. I mainly do the power lifts and it suites me well, some chalk on heavy singles, doubles, and triples solves all knurling issues. Only cosmetic complaint is the sleeve paint wears down quick, I would honesty like bare sleeves. I was expecting this and it doesn't bother me as much as it seems to others that have written reviews. My only suggestion is for rogue to offer a custom barbell option when purchasing bars as I couldn't get exactly what I wanted (heavy knurling, dual marks as I want to do so Olympic lifts down the road, center knurling for a solid feel when squatting). I know this would be costly to make and take out of the production efficiency but I feel it would be a solid niche in the industry.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Perfection I have had this bar for over 3 months now. Through an exhaustive deadlift program with over 635 pounds on this monster I can honestly say: This is the best bar I have ever touched. The knurling is perfect, it doesn't eat up your hands in a long program but it still allows for great grip. The whip is phenomenal, and the spin with the bearings is so smooth you'll wonder why you ever used anything else. I have the black oxide finish and while there is wear appearing where my shins have sacrificed themselves to the bar, this doesn't bother me because I bought an Ohio Bar to lift weights, not to compete in a beauty pageant. And yes, I clean the bar after every use. Thank you Rogue for this magnificent production, Merica.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ohio Bar Had the bar for 2 weeks now and I love it. Knurling is perfect.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional at home and at the gym The Rogue Ohio Barbell. A masterpiece when it comes to barbells and a staple among CrossFit gyms around the globe. There are a lot of upsides to this bar, and compared to the downsides there is no reason why this barbell shouldn’t be considered as one of the best. I am reviewing this bar because I think it is important for people who are buying this, or planning on buying this bar, to know the good and the bad when it comes down to it. First, some background. The Ohio Bar weighs 20 kilograms (44 pounds), this bar uses bushings instead of bearings, and also the diameter of the bar where you hold on to is 28.5 millimeters. I have relatively big hands and I like the bar diameter to be smaller than bigger. 28.5 millimeters is perfect for my liking. If you prefer your bars be large and thick than this may be a drawback for you rather than an upside. The Ohio Bar uses a standard knurling. This knurling is not too soft but not too aggressive. When I am going to go do some heavy snatches and clean and jerks I like to be able to grip the bar and feel the knurling dig into my hands a little bit, not too much though because it will tear up my hands. The knurling on the Ohio Bar does just that. I own this barbell and use it in my home gym. I also workout at a CrossFit gym that has multiple Rogue Ohio Barbells. To begin things let’s talk about this bar as a home gym bar. I have owned this bar for over a year, and I use it quite often (ranging from 3 times in a week to 8 maybe 9 times per week). Like any barbell, after a little while there is some wear and tear on it. But functionality-wise it feels just as good as when I first used it out of the box. The bushings used on the bar allow the bar to spin quickly; compared to ball bearings they are more reliable and spin faster. Anybody who does Olympic Weightlifting knows that a bar that spins quickly is a bar waiting to have some weight thrown around. This bar is able to take a bit of a beating. Living in Oregon the winters get pretty wet and cold. The wet air has caused my old barbells to rust and not be usable, but the Ohio Bar handles it like a champ and is not phased. I have put this bar through good use, a lot of Metcons and a lot more weightlifting. Where many barbells have fallen short as home gym bars, this one has succeeded. As a gym barbell, one that has found its home at a CrossFit box, it is fantastic. It does everything a gym owner may want out of a bar and some more. I am not a gym owner but being a coach I want the best for the gym and the best for my athletes, and the barbell I consistently go back to is the Ohio Bar. The biggest difference between this bar being a home gym bar and a bar at the box is the amount of volume it goes through daily. At my home gym I may use it once, twice, maybe three times in one day. At the box, it gets used close to ten maybe twelve or thirteen times in one day. Multiply that out over one week, the difference is staggering. The Ohio Bars at our box have been there for about the same amount of time as I have had mine in my home gym. I can feel a significant difference in how the bar feels when I am doing Metcons or Olympic lifting at home compared to when I am at the gym. After a year of significantly more volume, the spin on the bar has faded. I’m not saying that there isn’t any spin left but there is a difference between the two bars when compared to one another. The knurling on the bar is just the same as it was when we got it. Besides the spin on the bar everything is still in great condition. The most important thing to note about this bar is that it is set up to be the absolute best bar at the price it is sold at. You can go looking for much nicer bars but at a cost being thousands of dollars. I have looked online to see what other bars are offered around $300 and I am yet to find something that I feel comfortable investing in. Not to mention Rogue’s fantastic customer service. They pride themselves on being the best in the business. I have purchased many things from the, and if something is slightly out of character Rogue does not hesitate to replace it or fix it. If you take good care of this bar it will last you a very very very long time, and even if you don’t take good care of it, it will still last. I rated this bar a 4 out of 5 only because the spin begins to die out a little bit if not taken good care of. It is hard to not give this bar a 5/5, but any other bars I have used pale in comparison to this bar.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Multipurpose bar First impressions were great. Bar looks and functions really well. I have not used it long enough to say anything on durability. Knurling is just right although maybe a little soft for deadlifting, perfect for everything else. Delivery was really fast also.
Date published: 2016-10-17
  • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_XX7337, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rogue